In 1973, Under the direction of Chief Ron Procise, the Issaquah Police Department purchases a white Dodge patrol car. It was just one of a few changes that Procise made as Police Chief in the early 1970s. #Issaquah125
This author has yet to write their bio.Meanwhile lets just say that we are proud IssqErica contributed a whooping 282 entries.
Entries by IssqErica
In 1971, D.B. Cooper hijacks a plane from Portland, OR to Seattle, WA. #Issaquah125
In 1970, the first Salmon Days celebration is held and roughly 2,500 people attend. Salmon Days has continued to grow and change over the years. #Issaquah125
In 1970, Dr. W.E. Gibson’s home, built circa 1900, is razed. The rare gingko tree, planted by Gibson circa 1910, is spared thanks to petitioners. Issaquah’s gingko is considered one of Issaquah’s Treasures. #Issaquah125
In 1964, Pine Lake’s Lew and Bea Lefler accommodate their dog Bojo’s desire to ride horses. #Issaquah125
In 1963, Irving Petite, a Tiger Mountain resident since 1941, publishes a book called “Mister B,” about the orphaned bear he took in. Petite authored a number of other books inspired by his life on Tiger Mountain. #Issaquah125
In 1961, Pastor Hendrickson of the Community Baptist Church has a hair-raising experience. #Issaquah125
The Issaquah police and community residents didn’t doubt the Reverend’s tale, or the rattle at the end of it. Click to read more about the snake that made hisssssstory!
Join Collections Manager Julie Hunter for a deep dive into one of our latest artifacts – a wedding quilt from 1904.
Part II: The story of Willa Stevenson Eastlick’s 1904 wedding quilt, continued.
CONNECT WITH US
MUSEUM HOURS & LOCATION
Gilman Town Hall
165 SE Andrews Street
Open Thurs-Fr-Sat, 11am-3pm
Issaquah Depot Museum
78 First Avenue NE
Open Fri-Sat-Sun, 11am-3pm
Issaquah Valley Trolley
78 First Avenue NE
Open May 9, 2015